River City Extension – Our New Intelligence

In the spirit of Throwback Thursday, I’m rewinding the clock back to early 2010. While this was only three measly years ago, in the music world, it’s practically a lifetime. Check out my write up on “Our New Intelligence” by River City Extension and head to Stereofox to listen for yourself!

River City Extension

The eight-person gang, River City Extension, hails from the great state of New Jersey. Why do I call it that? Well, it happens to be my home state as well, so I can’t hate on it (at least not publicly).

“Our New Intelligence” could easily be coined RCE’s anthem. Full of jubilant energy, folky elements and post-punk intensity, the Toms River outfit cannot be confined within a specific genre. Lush, symphonic strings, horns and piano are heightened by hand claps, harmonizing ‘pirate’ chants, and alternating male and female vocals separated into segmented orchestration.

If this ‘throwback’ is a new one for you, then I’d personally consider it your lucky day. Get caught in the danceable fervor of “Our New Intelligence.”

[As seen on STEREOFOX]

Leave me something, I'd love to hear from you!

