No Day but Today.

It’s a simple question and one we’ve all heard countless times: If you were to die tomorrow, how would you spend today? Would you go happy? Would you feel fulfilled?

Truly take a minute to think about this, because right now, within this exact moment you have the power to change anything, and I mean ANYTHING, going on in your life. Your ultimate goal is to be happy right? Put the little details aside, or better yet, put them together and what do they all lead to? Happiness.

Choose to be happy

My message for today is to stop putting off happiness. It isn’t something that magically comes about when you’re caught up or all the work is done. It’s not an unattainable state only found when the kids are asleep and the stars align. It’s finding the joy in each task and in every moment. If you continue to seek this end result, you’re going to be searching indefinitely.

I woke up this morning to read the news of Cory Monteith’s passing. Although I didn’t know the man personally, I’ve connected to his characters and talent, as so many other fans have. It’s always sad to hear news of this kind, but it’s also a little dose of reality, a reminder that no one is invincible.

Maybe it’s because he was so young. Maybe it’s because it was unexpected. Maybe it’s because I’ve had some recent health issues and concerned with changing my lifestyle. Or probably some combination formula of the three. But I am someone who believes that every detail, no matter how minute or extravagant, is meant to impact our lives. Everyone is struggling in their own, unknown ways, but our time here is limited and we should be choosing happiness everyday, in each moment. If you don’t choose it NOW, you may not have the chance.

As anyone who reads my blog knows, music is a commanding force in my life, so I will leave everyone with some positive Sunday Morning vibes, compliments of Stereofox senior writer, Alex. I love when music sounds like hope, and that’s exactly the way this feels. Make it a legendary Sunday.

[As seen on BLIRT]

12 responses to “No Day but Today.

  1. Today my last day? It will be well spent. My granddaughter will be throwing the ball around during 7th inning stretch at Miami Marlins game. Couldn’t be sweeter.

  2. I’ve found that the most important factor to attaining happiness is timing (and ultimately the patience to wait for the right time). There are many times I’ve wanted something in life, but to go after that want without proper planning was foolish, leaving me more unhappy than I was before. Not only knowing what will make you happy, but how and when to reach for those items, is a true secret to success.

  3. Powerful question … I asked my self about 15 years ago ” what if I had only 6 months left to live?” … “living” the answer radically transformed my life …

    Such questions are transformative at any time in one’s life … is a great “shower of the psyche” 🙂

    Excellent post … happiness does not lend itself to “postponement.”

  4. This is a great post! It’s a question more people need to ask themselves and take to time answer. We get lost in our day to days and forget to enjoy our lives!

  5. Pingback: Blog Carnival V4 - The Indie Chicks·

  6. This lesson sometimes takes to long to learn and then what a waste, right. You can find your happy space, but sometimes ya just gotta try a little harder. Thanks for great advice. 😉

Leave me something, I'd love to hear from you!

