October’s Storm

For photography purposes, the photo below is my favorite I’ve taken. It may look familiar as I’ve posted it before. When actually reading the lyrics of October’s Storm by The Reign of Kindo, another favorite of mine, it’s the image that immediately came to mind, almost as if it symbolized something greater, deeper.

I had never even heard the song when I originally snapped the shot, and although it moved me since first listen, I only read the actual lyrics online about a week ago. I immediately realized besides the crisp, vibrantly melodious vocals, exceptional piano and instrumentation blend, and overall production music genius, another reason I was drawn to it was the symbolization of it’s poetic lyrics. The verse in bold is what truly stands out, both musically and symbolically. I hope it’s as meaningful to others as it’s been to me. Take a listen and enjoy!

photo 1 (3)

I swung beneath the battered trees 
The sunlight kissed and greeted me 
It broke right through the clouded skies above 
Adorned the trees with shining love and 

Veils of doubt and shadows fled my eyes 

The saddest looking trees 
Broken and bruised in the fury of October’s storm 
Stripped of their majesty 
The storm came in the night 
It crippled this town, unannounced and unmercifully bawling
tears of wet snow 

Though the trees cried through the night 
There was none to cure their plight 
And it seemed their better days 
Would behind them, ever stay. 

On that clouded day 

Years had since passed since the fury of October’s storm 
When I found that old swing 
They were standing high above 
The sunlight came down and revealed to my eyes such a wonder 
They were bursting with life 

No matter what storms you’ve seen 
No matter the broken dreams 
you’ve yet to see mend 
Consider the the battered trees 
Their leaves dancing in the breeze 
Recalling no memory of October’s storm 

Though the trees cried through the night
There was none to cure their plight
And it seemed their better days 
Would behind them, ever stay. 

*Reign of Kindo has a new album coming out later this summer. Stay tuned!

16 responses to “October’s Storm

  1. Pingback: Welcome to a new friend: Marisa D. Lyon | Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!·

Leave me something, I'd love to hear from you!

