Music Monday – Love Songs to Hate

loveguitarr

Just because they are love songs, doesn’t mean we have to love them.

This week’s Music Monday is taking a bit of a twist. Rather than focus on love songs we can’t get enough of, we’re listing the ones that don’t quite make the cut. Over the top, corny songs that aren’t exactly on our favorites list- Love songs to hate. Or maybe for some of you, hate to love?! After all, not everyone has the same taste and just because they aren’t our favorites doesn’t mean they aren’t yours. Personally I can’t listen to “My Heart Will Go On” without being utterly sick of it and picturing Leo and Kate “flying” on the front of a ship, but The Loveumentary’s Music Monday playlists are all about sharing the love and the music. And if Celine is a favorite of yours, we couldn’t let you miss out! 

The playlist is a true collaboration, blending genres, styles and decades. A few of the artists include John Mayer, The Cardigans, James Blunt, and Lionel Richie. Take a listen and see if you agree, or recommend some of your own love songs to hate and hate to love!

While I happily admit I was an *NSYNC fan back in the day (I was in high school, are you really surprised?), this song was still never a favorite of mine. But what “This I Promise You” lacks musically, it makes up for visually with a little JT ’00s highlights and curls throwback. Enjoy!

This Music Monday playlist is available on spotify. We would love for everyone to listen, subscribe, and share with others. To receive future Music Monday playlists, or follow along with the The Loveumentary series, you can subscribe, or follow on twitter and facebook. Happy Monday and as always, share the love ❤

15 responses to “Music Monday – Love Songs to Hate

  1. Good to see Achy Breaky Heart on that list. I don’t think I ever heard a song so much in my life compared to that one when it came out. The Weird Al version is good tho 🙂

  2. I admit to liking Lovefool but none of the others. I would put the song Breakfast at Tiffanys in its place. It may not even be a love song. Maybe it’s a ‘dude you have no chance with her especially after that stupid line” kind of song, but I would put it at the top of every worst songs list 🙂

  3. Truly Madly Deeply has got to be the guiltiest of my guilty pleasures. It’s so awfully syrupy mushy gushy that it’s become completely awesome. I for one would put the collected works of Whitney Houston on the list. And Paul McCartbeys Silly love Songs.

  4. Ha, ha! Love the list (I do like some of the songs, but hate most too). I can not stand Celine Dione and especially that Titanic song – it was everywhere. My new hate is Selena Gomez’s “I love you like a love song” I mean it’s just nonsensical and not even fun – my six-year old son and I parody it by singing things like “I love you like a milkshake baby” or whatever we think of to fill in the blank.

  5. From This Moment by Shania Twain is one of those love songs that I used to think defined my life. Recently, I heard it in my car and realized I’d outgrown it completely. Ick!

Leave me something, I'd love to hear from you!

