Forgotten

Sometimes there are just not enough hours in the day. I think for the most part, this is something we can all agree on. That’s why it’s implicitly important to jam pack those hours with things that you love, things that excite, things that inspire. Whether it be active creation and participation or sharing and support, that time, or the lack there of, is so much more meaningful.

Unfortunately for me, (or fortunately, depending upon how you look at it) while I’m “working” on one of the things I’m most passionate about, music, my creative writing endeavors are somewhat thrown on the back-burner. I haven’t been able to devote as much time to it lately. At least not as much as I would like to.

In an effort to seek balance between the two, I’m participating in this weekend’s Trifecta Writing Challenge, one I’ve missed over the past few weeks. Check out the original post for details and to participate!

bedd

Hazy-filled eyes flicker, slowly adjusting

The morning light taunts

Spiraling confusion

Her outstretched hands, unfamiliar

Racing thoughts

Can not catch their memories

Stumbling to the mirrors reflection

Of one she does not recognize

Trifecta
The Trifecta weekend challenge is to use one hyphenated compound modifier within 33 words.

36 responses to “Forgotten

    • Thank you so much Suzanne. That means a great deal coming from such a gifted writer! I appreciate your feedback and so glad you enjoyed it 🙂

    • Thank you so much Joe! You’re pieces are always favorites of mine, so it’s always great to hear when I can return the favor 😉

  1. This sounds almost like waking up from a dream, in those few seconds when you can’t remember where you are and if you’re still dreaming. Very cool (:

    • It’s kind of a cross between waking up from a dream and having amnesia. Those few seconds when nothing makes sense, only extending further into time 🙂 Thanks so much for reading!

    • So glad I could participate again this week! I’ve been making sure to at LEAST read the work of others. Such a great challenge. Thanks for checking out my contribution 🙂

  2. Marisa, this really describes the mental state of coming out of a fog, or dream, or whatever other kind of experience when you’re not quite fully aware yet. KUDO’s and Bravo. Miss your writings.

  3. Now I just want to know what she does next! Good work, and keep writing – find a writer friend who’s willing to talk straight to you about your writing and never stop working – work on the things you are bad at and the things that give you the most trouble – but most of all, WORK! If you don’t have anyone to give you that criticism feel free to ask me – I don’t really think comment boxes are the place but feel free to shoot me an email and I’d be more than willing. Workshop and revision are two of my favorite things as well as two things that have pushed me to grow as a writer more than anything else so I’d love to help anyway that I can – Great stuff!

    Chuck
    wordshaveteeth.wordpress.com

    p.s. WORK! 🙂

  4. I like the feeling you create here! It reminds me of when I’m really tired and I’m visiting relatives- I wake up confused and it takes several seconds to figure out where I’m at.

  5. It’s quite nice. Here’s one for you: In a quiet moment, rearrange all those words and see what you come up with – you’ll be surprised. Berlin says hello. Cheers.

  6. This was beautiful, especially in combination with the photo. I don’t usually do Trifecta–Trifextra– on the weekends, and apparently I am missing out. 🙂 This piece was really enjoyable to read.

Leave me something, I'd love to hear from you!

