Cloud Cult at Johnny Brenda’s

I’m privileged to attend a lot of live musical performances. It’s by far one of my favorite things to do, and I’m lucky to say I am rarely ever disappointed. And every once in a while, a band or artist or musician, or some combination of the three, exceeds my already high expectations and truly moves me.

Last Friday night, I had the honor of experiencing indie rock band, Cloud Cult, at Johnny Brenda’s.  It’s a perfect example of a performance that moved me, and one I won’t soon forget. The mix of artistry, passion, and energy was electric. If you’re not already familiar with Cloud Cult, definitely check them out. I’ve conveniently included their latest album, Love, in this post and you can also read my review of that album here.

Below is an excerpt from my article for JUMP Magazine on Friday night’s performance, and my full review is available here, as well.

CC at JB

Fellow independent band JBM, warmed up the crowd with their mellow, Bruce Springsteen-esque vibe.

After a short break, the indie rock eight-piece climbed onto the modest stage. The lights dimmed to a faint glow as the timid orchestra began, softly building momentum. As the bass and percussion kicked in, the lights blared on, and the group’s two artists brushed shades of blue vigorously across their canvasses in perfect tune with the music. From that moment, neither the band, nor crowd, stopped rockin’ for the remainder of the performance.

Great chemistry is vital to all amazing artists, but to say Cloud Cult’s chemistry was great, is an understatement that nowhere near does them justice. It felt more like being in the presence of a tightly knit family, just sharing their artistry and having a blast together. From seven of the eight members wailing away on a single snare drum, to bringing the bands two painters, including Minowa’s wife, up to the mics to join in harmonies, there was a feeling of overwhelming camaraderie projected throughout the entire venue. 

photo 1

photo 5

[As seen on JUMP]

Leave me something, I'd love to hear from you!

