Innocence in a Sundress

I’ve stumbled upon a few of these writing prompts lately, and if you can’t already tell, I really enjoy them! Sometimes all it takes is one word to spark a thought or bring a story to life in my head, and I appreciate the assistance from fellow bloggers and the authors/editors of these writing challenges to get me started.

Below is my first contribution to Five Sentence Fiction from Lillie McFerrin‘s site. Check it out and feel free to participate! Here’s the instructions for this weeks entry:

What it’s all about: Five Sentence Fiction is about packing a powerful punch in a tiny fist. Each week I will post a one word inspiration, then anyone wishing to participate will write a five sentence story based on the prompt word. The word does not have to appear in your five sentences, just use it for direction. This week: WHISPER

Whisper2

A head of gold ringlets frolicked through a sun-drenched meadow. A vision of innocence in a sundress. The dandelions danced through her delicate fingertips and into the air; their whisper tickling her wrinkled nose. A mothers smile grew as she watched blossoming admiration for beauty and simple pleasures.  Their eyes glistened identically as they met each others.

5sec

27 responses to “Innocence in a Sundress

    • Wow. That is the most amazing compliment I could ever receive. Thank you so very much. You can’t imagine how much that means to me.

      • Oh, I’m glad I could brighten your day a little! Yeah I had to keep coming back to read it because I thought it was so beautiful, then I thought I’d better tell you that. 🙂

  1. Beautiful five sentences, Marisa! I am somewhat confused with the challenge. The idea is that she gives one word.. in your case the word is “whisper”. Therefore, is the photograph included with the challenge or one that you added yourself? The reason that I ask is because I have recently added a new page to my blog titled -PhotoWriteGraphy- its purpose is to challenge writers. If interested please check it out here: http://dianesloftis.wordpress.com/photowritegraphy/
    Again, this is a brand new idea that I began in January. Keep up your creative talent! 🙂

    • For this particular one, only the word is provided. I found a picture to match the story I wanted to portray. And thank you for the wonderful compliment. I will definitely check out the photo-write challenge and add it to my list to participate in!! And of course do my best to promote it and spread the word. Thanks for the heads up 🙂

  2. Hello again, I am just beginning to explore these blogs that offer daily/weekly challenges and inspiration. I like what you do with these seemingly impossible assignments. You capture so much with so little. Keep it up. 🙂

    • They are great, and a lot of fun, once you dive into them. Thanks for your kind words of encouragement! Looking forward to reading some from you once you participate 😉

  3. What a lovely, sentimental piece! There is nothing more beautiful than a young child discovering all the wonders of life. You depicted such a moment perfectly. Those years go by so quickly!

    • Thank you, I’m so glad you enjoyed it 🙂 I just read yours as well and loved it! The ending brought a huge smile to my face. Looking forward to the next one already!

Leave me something, I'd love to hear from you!

