My Second Writing Award, Ever!

Let me just start off by saying, these awards are so much fun to give and receive. What a creative way to get to know more about your fellow bloggers, as well as network with others. A huge thanks to The Jaded apothecary for the nomination of this prestigious award. My apologies for not accepting and re-posting sooner, as I was away on vacation last week and still in the process of getting back into the swing of things. I am beyond thrilled to be recognized by a fellow blogger whose posts I consistently look forward to, as well. So everyone, please do yourselves a favor and check it out here–> http://jadedapothecary.wordpress.com/!!

very-inspiring-blogger-award

Alright, the rules for this particular award are as follows:

~Display the award logo.

~Link back to the person who nominated you (My pleasure. Everyone better go check out The Jaded apothacary’s excellent blog ASAP 🙂 )

~ State seven things about yourself.

~Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award and link to them (I’ll be honest, after just handing out nominations for the Leibster Award, I’m not sure I can fulfill this, but I’ll do my best to get as many out there as possible!)

So here they are, seven of the most interesting facts about, well, me:

1. Up until I was born, everyone (besides my Grandfather), thought I was a boy. Even the doctors! Silly 1980’s sonogram machines… Anyway, as a result, my nursery was decorated completely in primary colors and I think it has somewhat scarred me, as even 28 1/2 years later I’m still complaining about it haha (Just kidding Mom)

2. Last week I was on The Rock Boat, and it was one of the best vacations/weeks of my life. If you love cruises, live music, tropical weather, meeting new, fun people, and overall just having an absolute blast, I highly recommend checking it out.

TRBIMG_0643

3. Following up on fact #2, it was overwhelmingly liberating that no one, myself included, could use/browse their phones while on the cruise. We have all began to rely on them so much, and of course I am guilty as charged when it comes to this, but I can honestly say I didn’t miss it one bit! It was amazing to look around and not see anyone constantly checking their phones. It’s become a reflex to most of us, we just grab it and “surf” when we’re bored or there is nothing else to occupy our minds. I’m making a conscious effort to limit my meaningless browsing now that I have it back and hope to break that habit a bit.

4. I have an eye phobia and, unfortunately, my eyesight is not exactly 20/20. It’s not horrible. Let’s just say to watch tv or anything that might be a little far in the distance (theatre, movies, sporting event, concerts etc.) without my glasses would be somewhat pointless as it would be a bit of a blur. This is obviously common for many people, but this eye phobia, fear thing I have going on prevents me from wearing contacts, so half the time everything in the distance is a blur, and the other half, I look super cool in my awesome glasses (see below):

photo (2)

5. I’ve had a slight obsession with Disney since I was a kid. Disney World, Disney Movies, just about everything. My Grandparents have lived in Florida almost all of my life and when I was younger, I would spend a few weeks (sometimes even over a month) with them every summer. So as you can imagine, I was spoiled with frequent Disney World trips and still love everything about it to this day.

6. Even though I’m a writer, I’m a horrific speller. I sometimes even surprise myself with how bad I truly am. Luckily, there are plenty of spell-check and auto-correct assistants out there. Although if I was sitting here on a typewriter, I’d be lugging one of those huge, heavy dictionary’s around everywhere with me. Numbers, now there is a language I speak. Letters, not so much. Only when forming actual thoughts, not the words that complete them.

7. I love “time piece”  moves and books. For example, Little Women and Pride and Prejudice are my two favorite books, as I mentioned in my Leibster Award facts. I sometimes wish that we still did (some) things the way they did back then. Most notably, the dances. Not necessarily all of the details of a man asks a woman to dance once or twice and this is now grounds for marriage, but the social aspect of it. As opposed to the way “dances” aka clubs, are these days. In those times, it was an event. A social outing for all to attend, rather than the monotonous, every Saturday night routine so many engage in now.

And now for my nominations! Congratulations to all and I look forward to reading your posts!!

1. http://gaylejordan.wordpress.com/

2. http://lemonadejargon.wordpress.com/

3. http://margaretgriffin.wordpress.com/

4. http://discoveriesinaletterbox.wordpress.com/

5. http://kingsleycw13.wordpress.com/

6. http://itshardtodance.wordpress.com/

7. http://winebbler.wordpress.com/

8. http://bradyoungart.wordpress.com/

9. http://pgallnutt.wordpress.com/

10. http://weatheringthestormbp.wordpress.com

11. http://byadamdrake.com/

33 responses to “My Second Writing Award, Ever!

  1. Pingback: Very Inspiring Blogger Award | it's hard to dance·

  2. So so interestingly written and wonderful to read!!!  Enjoyed it  a lot!!! x xox

  3. Hey, congratulations on the award!
    You have a nice blog here, kudos – and I used to be a pretty miserable speller and grammatical-monster (still am a wee bit) so don’t be bothered. So long as the content is good, the rest is minor and if nothing else, that’s what one has editors for! 🙂 Have you read trainspotting? check out the text/language there and you can be at ease knowing that if the book is good, people will put up with most anything!
    Cheers.

  4. Thanks for the Nom 🙂 It’d great to know that award season still lives on in the blogosphere!

  5. Marissa, You’re so kind for nominating me, but I don’t think I have the know-how to do all the instructions listed above. Posting links, etc…
    Thank you so much for visiting my blog. It’s great to know that something in my work is reaching you.

    • Hey no problem, if it’s for recognition only it’s not so bad, right? Try it out, it’s really just for fun but of course no obligation whatsoever!

  6. For my birthday last year, I had a masquerade ball, complete with dance cards and got one of the historians from my husband’s work to come and “call” some traditional dances for us. She told us some fascinating history about dancing too, such as what signals indicated whether a couple were interested in each other. It was so much fun!

  7. Congrats for this award ! I never follow the rules of awards (because of my editorial guideline that I have created !) but I think it’s always a pleasure to be noticed in such a beautiful way ! Now, I know you better and I like what I read !

    • Thank you very much, and yes I absolutely agree. It’s amazing to be chosen by fellow bloggers and great to share a more personal side and get to know others behind the writing.

Leave me something, I'd love to hear from you!

