The Drawing

Below is the image for this week’s Picture it & Write challenge, a weekly creative writing event hosted by Ermilia.  All are invited to contribute by either continuing the story started by one of the co-others, or starting their own, based on inspiration from the image.

This is my first time participating, and I’m excited to do so! The event is a fun and interactive way to both practice and share creativity, as well as network with others. I do something similar by posting my own photography, along with a description or story evoked by the photo, but am delighted to take part in the event and share among other contributors.

Erase Me

I drew him.  I would see him so often in my dreams, both asleep and awake, that it must have just happened, subconsciously. When I looked down at the paper, there he was. The figure who frequently occupied space in my head. Whose face was so familiar, I could sketch him without even realizing it. The photo in my mind had snuck its way onto the page before me. My own doing. Though it seemed more like the work of the divine.

Some days I didn’t want to know him. Others he was as essential as breathing. A constant battle between want and need. Right and wrong. Fantasy verses reality. Somewhere along the line the two sides had evolved into the same.

As I tried to erase him from my page, he wouldn’t budge. He sprung to life, clinging to even that small part of me; fighting his way to stay. As I tried to erase his legs, he grabbed my hand to stop me. When I went for his arms, he kicked. He wouldn’t disappear. Neither of us would allow it. For we too had combined. Connected. It wasn’t something that could so easily be deleted…

So there he stayed. Staring up at me from the paper. Only inches away, yet a part of his own, distant world. Continuously longing to leap up into my own.

But it wasn’t enough. It never was. And we both knew it never would be.

pictureitandwrite

Click  for the original Picture it & Write challenge, hosted by Ermilia’s blog.

28 responses to “The Drawing

  1. bittersweet ending for the two. they have each other sure, but it’ll never be enough 😦 great writing. and welcome to picture it& write ^^ great start

  2. Beautiful! Thanks for contributing to our writing prompt. If you would like to have your photography featured, let us know and we’ll try to work it in. We’re also turning some of these contributions into a publication supporting charity so that could be some good exposure for you.

    • Thank you!! I did read the exciting news about publication, what a great idea! And I’d be honored to contribute to it if any of my writing was chosen, though I know you have many fantastic contributions weekly. I’m bummed I’ll be away for this Sunday’s entry, but definitely will be participating again the following week. Also, I’d really like to submit some photography as well. How should I go about doing so?

      • Thanks, we’re pretty stoked so many people are interested in the publication. If you’d like your writing considered, you need to follow the instructions on this post.

        http://ermiliablog.wordpress.com/2012/10/07/picture-it-and-write-publication/

        That just makes it easy on us and clear incase there’s any question about whether we have permissions.

        You can always contribute to weeks even after we’ve posted the next one. There’s no expiration on them so feel free to post when you’re back 😀 Just leave a comment on one of the Picture it & Write threads on Ermiliablog with links to your work. If there’s a specific one you want us to use or if we have free reign to pick what we like, just let us know in the comments.

        Thank you so much for your interest.

      • Fantastic! This one isn’t eligible for publication then since it’s not from 2012 correct? I’ll go back to the archives and maybe contribute to one of those for this years publication as well as send some photography via email for future consideration. Thanks again 🙂

  3. Excellent take on the prompt. I really liked the second paragraph, and the third, I started to read faster to see what was going to happen. Nice piece.

  4. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back in a couple of weeks!

  5. I am amazed by your ability to convey so much about the characters in such a short piece of writing – high five for such a great piece.

Leave me something, I'd love to hear from you!

